Acronym Cheat Sheet

As Scotland's renewable energy industry continues to grow, so too does the list of abbreviations used to reference organisations, groups, policies and technologies across the sector.

Whether you are just beginning your career journey or are looking for a helpful resource to stay on track, the below cheat sheet of commonly used industry acronyms is a good place to start.

ABS - Area Based Schemes

AEOI - Adverse Effect on the Integrity

AI - Anticipatory Investment

ALB - Arm’s-length body

APPG - All Party Parliamentary Group

AR - Allocation round

ASC - Authorised Supply Capacity

ASTI - Accelerated Strategic Transmission Investment

BAR - Building Assessment Reports

BECCS - Bioenergy with carbon capture and storage

BESS - British Energy Security Strategy

BHA - British Hydro Association

BM - The Balancing Mechanism

BSUoS - Balancing Services Use of System Charges

CAP - Connections Action Plan

CapEx - Capital expenditure

CBA - Cost benefit analysis

CBI - Confederation of British Industry

CBRA - Cable Burial Risk Assessments 

CCC - The Climate Change Committee

CCGT - Closed cycle gas turbine

CCS - Carbon capture and storage

CCUS - Carbon capture, usage and storage

CES - Crown Estate Scotland

CfD - Contracts for Difference

CfE - Call for Evidence

CHP - Combined heat and power

CIA - Cumulative Impact Assessment 

CM - Capacity Market

COP - Conference of the Parties

COSLA - Convention of Scottish Local Authorities

CPO - Compulsory purchase order

CSNP - Centralised Strategic Network Plan

CSR - Comprehensive Spending Review

CWIC - Coalition for Wind Industry Circularity

DA - Devolved administration

DCO - Development consent order

DecEx - Decommissioning expenditure 

DER - Distributed energy resources

DESNZ - Department for Energy Security and Net Zero

DevEx - Development expenditure

DNO - Distribution Network Operators

DPEA - Directorate for Planning & Environmental Appeals

DSI - Data Sharing Infrastructure

DSO - Distribution System Operators

DSR - Demand side response

DTS - Distributed temperature sensing 

ECAS - Energy Community Aggregator Service

ECU - Energy Consents Unit (The Scottish Government)

EIA - Environmental Impact Assessment

EKA - Eskdalemuir

ENA - Electricity Network Association

EOI -Expression of Interest

EPCI - Engineering Procurement and Construction and Installation

ESCA - European Subsea Cables Association 

ESO - Electricity System Operator

ESS - Energy Security Strategy 

ETDP - Electricity Transmission Design Principles

ETS - Emissions Trading Scheme

ETYS - Electricity Ten Year Statement

EV - Electric vehicle

EWG - Eskdalemuir Working Group

FCP - Flow Country Partnership

FES - Future Energy Scenarios

FID - Future Investment Decisions

FLOWW - Fishing Liaison with Offshore Wind and Wet Renewables Group

FMMS - Fishing Management and Mitigation Strategy 

FOW - Floating offshore wind

FSNR - Future Systems and Network Regulation

FSO - Future System Operator

FWSG - Floating Wind Steering Group

GIGA - Green Industries Growth Accelerator

GVA - Gross value added

GW - Gigawatt

HEEPS - Home Energy Efficiency Programmes for Scotland

HMT - Her Majesty's Treasury

HND - Holistic Network Design

HNZ - Heat network zones

HRA - Habitat Regulation Assessment

HSE - Health and Safety Executive 

iCFD - Innovations Contracts for Difference

ICPC - International Cable Protection Committee 

INTOG - Innovation and Targeted Oil & Gas

IPCC - International Panel on Climate Change

IPPA - Innovation Power Purchase Agreement

IPR - Iterative Plan Review 

IROPI - Imperative reasons of overriding public interest

ITT - Invitation to tender

LCOE - Levelised Cost of Electricity

LDP - Local Development Plan 

LHEES - Local Heat and Energy Efficiency Strategies

LMP - Locational marginal pricing

LoSCM - Library of Strategic Compensatory Measures

LOTI - Large Onshore Transmission Investment

LPA - Local planning authority

MCA - Maritime and Coastguard Agency 

MCZ - Marine Conservation Zone

MD - Marine Directorate

MD-LOT  - Marine Directorate - Licensing Operations Team

MEC - Marine Energy Council

MITS - Main Interconnected Transmission System

MMO - Marine Management Organisation 

MNG - Marine Net Gain

MPA - Marine Protected Area

MPIs - Multi-Purpose Interconnectors

MRF - Marine Recovery Fund

MRFO - Marine Recovery Fund Operator

MW - Megawatt

NETS - National Electricity Transmission System

NS - NatureScot

NGES - National Grid Electricity System Operator

NHA - National Hydropower Association

NIC - National Infrastructure Committee

NMP - National Marine Plan

NOA - Network Options Assessment

NP - National park

NPF - National Planning Framework

NPS - National Policy Statements 

NSA - National Scenic Area

NSIP - Nationally Significant Infrastructure Project

NSTA - North Sea Transition Authority

NZ - Net-zero

OCSS - Offshore Coordination Support Scheme

OBZ - Offshore bidding zone

OD - Offshore Directorate

ODI - Output delivery incentive 

OEM - Original equipment manufacturer

OFGEM - The Office of Gas and Electricity Markets

OFTO - Offshore transmission owner

OHA - Offshore hybrid asset 

OnWPS - Onshore wind policy statement

OpEx - Operational expenditure

OREC - Offshore Renewable Energy Coalition

OREI - Offshore Renewable Energy Installations 

OTNR - Offshore Transmission Network Review

OW - Offshore wind

OWAT - Offshore Wind Acceleration Taskforce

OWEC /OWEAP - Offshore wind evidence and change programme 

OWEIP - Offshore Wind Environmental Improvement Package

OWGP - The Offshore Wind Growth Partnership

OWIC - Offshore Wind Industry Council

OWSLG - Onshore Wind Strategic Leadership Group

PCD - Price control deliverables

PDR - Permitted development rights

PPA - Power purchase agreement

PQQ - Pre-qualification questionnaire

PSH - Pumped storage hydro

P2G - Pathways to growth

REMA - Review of electricity market arrangements

REPD - Renewable Energy Planning Database

RESP- Regional Energy Strategic Planners

Rfi - Request for information

RIAG - Renewables Industry Advisory Group

RIIO - Revenue = Incentives + Innovation + Output

RTPI - Royal Town Planning Institute

RUK - RenewableUK

SAC - Special Area of Conservation 

SCM - Strategic Compensatory Measure

SDS - Skills Development Scotland

SEA - Strategic Environmental Assessment

SEAB - Scottish Energy Advisory Board

SEG - Smart Energy Guarantee

SFF - Scottish Fishermen's Federation

SG - Scottish Government

SIDC – Single Intraday Coupling

SMEIG - Scottish Marine Energy Industry Working Group

SMP - Sectoral Marine Plan

SNCB - Statutory Nature Conservation Body

SNIB - Scottish National Investment Bank

SPP - Scottish Planning Policy

SoS - Secretary of State

SOV - Service Operations Vessel

SOWEC - The Scottish Offshore Wind Energy Council

SOWSD - Scottish Onshore Wind Sector Deal

SPP - Scottish planning policy

SQSS - Security and Quality of Supply Standard

SSEN - Scottish and Southern Electricity Networks

SSEP - Strategic Spatial Energy Plan

SWESS - Scottish whole energy system scenarios

SWBSG - Scottish Windfarm Bird Steering Group

SWFP - The Scottish White Fish Producers Association Ltd

TAAP - Transmission Acceleration Action Plan

TAG - Transmission Access Guarantee

TCE - The Crown Estate

TCPA - Town and Country Planning Act

TCR - Targeted Charging Review

TLP - Tension-leg platform 

TMS - Transmission Loss Multipliers

TNUoS - Transmission Network Use of System charges

TOM - Target Operating Model

TRL - Technology readiness levels 

TSOs - Tranmission system operators 

UKG - UK Government

UNESCO - The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization

WHS - World Heritage Site

WLA - Wild land area

WTG - Wind Turbine Generator 

XBID - Cross-Border Intraday Project

If you think we have missed an important acronym, please complete this form and we will add it to the list.