Visit Us

6th Floor
Tara House
46 Bath Street
G2 1HG

Call Us

0141 353 4980

Email Us

Scottish Green Energy Awards winners hailed as ‘inspirational’

Posted on 01/12/2017 by Nick Sharpe

Cutting-edge energy generation technology and the people who help Scotland make a global renewable energy impact are among some of the winners at the 2017 Scottish Green Energy Awards.

The event, which took place in Edinburgh last night (Nov 30), saw winners across 11 categories receive trophies for their work in the country’s 26,000-strong renewables industry.

Among those receiving awards were:
  • MeyGen, the world’s largest tidal stream array, in the Pentland Firth off Orkney (Outstanding Project Award).
  • A community hydro scheme near Ullapool which was saved from closure by Locogen, an Edinburgh renewables business (Best Community Engagement Award).
  • Gareth Davies, MD of globally-active consultancy Aquatera and passionate advocate of marine energy (Outstanding Contribution Award)
Last night’s winners were drawn from a shortlist of 40, compiled by a panel of 10 judges, from almost 100 entries.

Scottish Conservative Leader Ruth Davidson MSP addressed the 1,200-strong audience at the event, which was hosted by TV's Hardeep Singh Kohli at the Edinburgh International Conference Centre.

Claire Mack, Chief Executive of Scottish Renewables, said: “This year’s Scottish Green Energy Award winners are helping Scotland change the way it thinks about energy – something that’s going to be increasingly important in future.

“They’re creating the organisations, projects and mindsets that we’ll need to tackle climate change, while continuing to power Scotland’s economy.

“They’re also developing the exportable skills and tools which will set Scotland at the forefront of the global fight against damaging carbon emissions. Our industry is incredibly proud of what these inspirational people and organisations are achieving, and I firmly believe the public should be too.”
The full list of winners is:
  • Best Community Engagement Award, sponsored by Vattenfall: Locogen – Ben Mor Hydro 500kW Shared Ownership Project
  • Best Community Project Award, sponsored by SSE: West Harris Trust - Talla na Mara
  • Best Innovation Award, sponsored by Red Rock Power Ltd: Scottish Water Horizons and SHARC Energy - Borders College Campus sewage energy recovery system
  • Carbon Reduction Award, sponsored by SmartestEnergy: Bright Green Hydrogen, Fife Council and Toshiba - The Levenmouth Community Energy Project
  • Champion of Renewables, sponsored by Vestas: Barbara Whiting
  • Contribution to Skills Award, sponsored by Senvion: 2050 Climate Group
  • Outstanding Contribution Award, sponsored by Highlands and Islands Enterprise: Gareth Davies
  • Outstanding Project Award, sponsored by RPS: Atlantis Resources – MeyGen
  • Outstanding Service Award, sponsored by AREG: Wood
  • Sustainable Development Award, sponsored by 4Navitas: SP Energy Networks - Future Intelligent Transmission Network Substation (FITNESS)
  • Rising Star Award, sponsored by WSP: Virginia Ruiz Albacete
The event was headline-sponsored by EDF Energy Renewables.

EDF Energy Renewables CEO Matthieu Hue said: “It has been another great evening of celebration for renewables in Scotland with very strong competition for each award which has been won.

“Congratulations to all those who have been successful and to everyone who entered. It’s clear we have a wealth of talent and ambition to take the industry forward.”

Nick Sharpe

Director of Communications and Strategy