Visit Us

6th Floor
Tara House
46 Bath Street
G2 1HG

Call Us

0141 353 4980

Email Us

V&A museum and new Aberdeen events venue shortlisted for 2018 Scottish Green Energy Awards

Posted on 08/10/2018 by None

Dundee’s new V&A museum and Aberdeen’s new Exhibition and Conference Centre, which are both making use of cutting-edge green energy technology, are among the finalists for the 2018 Scottish Green Energy Awards.

The shortlist, which is announced today (Oct 8), also includes innovative renewable energy schemes in some of Scotland’s most remote areas.

Projects in Fair IsleOrkney and the country’s first National Park – where small hydropower schemes are funding community improvement projects as well as generating green energy – also made the grade.

Scotland’s tidal energy sector is also represented, with two developers – Nova Innovationand Scotrenewables – and a number of supply chain businesses all shortlisted.

The full list of finalists can be seen on Scottish Renewables’ website.

Scottish Renewables Chief Executive Claire Mack said: “The Scottish Green Energy Awards allow our industry to recognise its best and brightest.

“With 16,000 people working in Scotland alone, the renewable energy sector is making an enormous contribution to our economy, both nationally and in some of our most remote rural areas.

“The organisations and individuals who make up 2018’s shortlist shine a light on just some of the incredible innovation, commitment and knowledge which make our industry what it is. I’d like to wish all our finalists the best of luck in December.”

More than 1,200 guests are set to attend the Scottish Green Energy Awards, which will be held at the Edinburgh International Conference Centre on December 6.

The event will be hosted by comedian Hardeep Singh Kohli and Shadow Chancellor John McDonnell MP will give the keynote address.

The 2018 Scottish Green Energy Awards are headline-sponsored by EDF Renewables.

CEO Matthieu Hue said: “The shortlist for this year’s Scottish Green Energy Awards looks very exciting and my thanks to everyone who has entered.

"Creativity, innovation and commitment leading to impressive achievements are all clear to see and I look forward to meeting you all on the biggest night of the year for our industry in Scotland, which we are very proud to sponsor for another year.”

The full 2018 shortlist is:


Best Community Project Award
  • Arrochar Community Hydro Society for the Arrochar Community Hydro Scheme
  • Community Energy Scotland for the Surf 'n' Turf Project
  • Fair Isle Electricity Company for the Fair Isle Low Carbon Energy System
  • Local Energy Scotland for the River Avich Hydro Scheme
  • Ore Valley Housing Association for Dundonald Wind Turbine       
Best Engagement Award
  • Banks Renewables for Kype Muir Wind Farm
  • Force 9 Energy for Clash Gour Wind Farm
  • SSE for Stronelairg Wind Farm
  • SSE for Bhlaraidh Wind Farm
  • Natural Power and ORE Catapult for the Wind Energy Benchmarking Services (WEBS)
Best Innovation Award
  • APEM for Fast Science by Digital Aerial Survey
  • Muirhall Energy and NATS for the Terma Radar System at Edinburgh Airport
  • StorTera for the Single Liquid Flow Battery
  • ALIenergy and Xanthella Ltd for the Algal Solutions for Energy Economy (ASLEE) Project
  • Zephir Ltd and Natural Power for ZX TM Lidar
  • ORE Catapult, ScottishPower Renewables and Green Angel Syndicate for the Offshore Wind Innovation Competition
  • Scotrenewables Tidal Power for SR2000
Best Practice Award
  • ORE Catapult's Health and Safety Programme
  • Scottish and Southern Electricity Networks' Workforce Renewal Team
Carbon Reduction Award
  • Aberdeenshire Council for the Crow's Nest Microgeneration Project
  • GI Energy and Dundee City Council for V&A Dundee
  • Microsoft for Project Natick
  • Renewable Parts Ltd Refurbishment Centre
Champion of Renewables Award
  • NnG Coalition
  • Glasgow Caledonian University for the PEETS Project
  • Star Renewable Energy
  • ScottishPower Renewables for Onshore Wind Week 2018
Contribution to Skills Award
  • Nigg Skills Academy
  • University of Strathclyde and University of Edinburgh for the Centre for Doctoral Training in Wind and Marine Energy Systems
  • Scottish and Southern Electricity Networks' Workforce Renewal Team
  • Primary Engineer           
Outstanding Project Award
  • CS Wind UK for Productivity Improvement Project
  • GI Energy and Dundee City Council for V&A Dundee
  • Nova Innovation for Enabling Future Arrays in Tidal Project
  • Scotrenewables Tidal Power for SR2000
  • SSE for Stronelairg Wind Farm
  • Vattenfall for European Offshore Wind Deployment Centre           
Outstanding Service Award
  • Green Investment Group for Green Investment Ratings Team
  • K2 Management
  • Leask Marine Ltd
  • Wood           
Sustainable Development Award
  • GreenBreeze Energy Ltd
  • SSE for Beatrice Offshore Wind Farm
  • Scottish and Southern Electricity Networks for the Caithness-Moray Transmission Project           
Young & Inspiring Award           
  • James Shearer, SP Energy Networks
  • John Freeburn, Windhoist
  • Fred Pullar, Renewable Parts
  • Lorna Archer, Fife Council