Visit Us

6th Floor
Tara House
46 Bath Street
G2 1HG

Call Us

0141 353 4980

Email Us

Conference Programme

Time Details
09:30 - 10:00 Registration and networking
10:00 - 11:00

Plenary 1

The future of solar in Scotland

Join us in the opening session to hear from industry leaders on the latest actions and ambitions of those at the forefront of the solar sector.

Chair and Welcome:
Jenny Hogan, Director of Policy, Scottish Renewables

Keynote Address:
Paul Wheelhouse MSP, Minister for Business, Innovation and Energy

Nick Boyle, CEO, Lightsource Renewable Energy


11:00 - 11:30 Networking break and exhibition
11:30 - 12:30

Plenary 2

Barriers to development and market opportunities

This session will explore the various polices impacting the solar sector in the UK as well as taking a look at market opportunities.

Finlay Colville, Head of Market Intelligence, Solar Media

John Forster, Chairman, Solar Trade Association Scotland and Forster Group
Chris Clark, Director, Emtec Energy
Richard Turnbull, Partner, TLT LLP


12:30 - 12:40 The morning of Day 1 will finish with 10 academic research students presenting details of their abstracts. All delegates are invited to view the poster abstracts which will be on display in the networking area for the duration of the conference. 
12:40 - 13:30 Networking lunch and exhibition
13:30 - 14:30

Plenary 3

Community ownership and engagement 

Shared ownership is being promoted throughout the UK and communities have a growing appetite to get involved. In this session, delegates will hear how communities and industry can work together to develop projects, and the importance of good engagement.

Felix Wight, Head of Development, Community Energy Scotland

Laura Nicolson, Shared Ownership Development Manager, Local Energy Scotland
Ffinlo Costain, Costain Consulting Ltd
David Linsley-Hood, Technical Director, Edinburgh Community Solar Co-operative


14:30 - 15:00 Networking break and exhibition
15:00 - 16:00

Plenary 4

System integration

This session will explore the potential for integration between solar and other renewable technologies. Topics covered include the co-location of wind and solar and system integration of photo-voltaics.

Jon Cape, Managing Director, iPower Energy Ltd

Andrew McGown, Solar PV Director, Absolute
Gen Cannibal, Director of Operations, Mabbett Environmental Planning

Ahmed Aboushady, Lecturer, School of Engineering, Robert Gordon University


Time Details
09:00 - 09:30 Registration and networking
09:30 - 10:30

Plenary 5

The role of solar in developing sustainable buildings
This opening session on Day Two of the conference will look at the role of solar in developing sustainable buildings across domestic, commercial and industrial rooftops.

Chair and Welcome:
Anne-Marie Fuller, Chair, Scottish Solar Energy Group 

Professor Sue Roaf, Professor of Architectural Engineering, Heriot-Watt University
Rupert Daly, Architect, Collective Architecture

Kerr MacGregor Award for Solar Innovation 
10:30 - 11:00 Networking break and exhibition
11:00 - 12:00

Plenary 6

Heat and electricity: the future of solar storage

The benefits of storage technologies are clear, and go beyond simply storing energy when demand is low and releasing it when required. This session will look at the role of PV and thermal storage in both domestic and commercial situations. 

Sarah Weatherhead, Technical Consultant, TNEI Services Ltd

Andrew Bissell, Chief Executive Officer, Sunamp Ltd
Thomas Houlding, Renewable Energy Consultant, SgurrEnergy
Ian McLean, Consenting & Technical Services Team Manager, Locogen Ltd


12:00 - 13:00 Networking lunch and exhibition
13:00 - 14:30

Plenary 7

Innovation and engineering

Speakers in this final session will explore the role of innovation and engineering before moving on to discuss the next steps for solar in Scotland.

Professor Graeme Cooke, School of Chemistry, University of Glasgow and Director, Scottish Institute for Solar Energy Research

Dr Tadhg O'Donovan, Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Heriot-Watt University
Professor Neil Robertson, School of Chemistry, University of Edinburgh
Professor Tariq Muneer, Professor of Energy Engineering, Edinburgh Napier University


14:30 Event close